Naturally Dreamy

A blog about my life as a mostly INFP living with an ESFJ, INTJ, and my pup. I blog about earth-friendly living and life through my eyes – not necessarily in that order. Come put your feet up where life is Naturally Dreamy!

10 Moby Sleep Songs for a Baby (or anyone)

Leave a comment

My first day watching the baby, I came prepared with CD’s.

Moby, Flamenco and other neutral background “songage”.

I listen to all sorts of music to go to sleep, but I figure neutral and instrumental was best when watching somebody else’s child.

(And side-note: Yes, I have considered Christian music, and it is awesome, and I have some favorites for sleeping from that, but Moby is doing the trick right now, so I don’t want to do something just to feel pious.)

Well, I had a very hard time trying to get her to sleep the first day, and after trying many things, I put on one of the CD’s.

She was sleepy in 5 minutes, and asleep in 15! The first day I only played the ones from the “Best Of” CD (CD is mentioned in captions).

Since then, I have used the same songs (plus a few more) every nap time. (Only now I know her parents are okay with her only taking a nap when she starts being sleepy, vs at 12 or whatever. Whew. 🙂 )

The playlist runs 44 minutes, and so 1- 2 go-throughs covers nap-time. And it’s really awesome, because it helps her sleep, and doesn’t make me sleepy. 🙂

Since I cannot play the songs for you, I added Screenshots of the iTunes visualizer. 🙂 Okay, in order:

(And if the pics are too big, I’m sorry. I optimized it for my particular browser size and screen. I don’t like in your face picture slideshows, so hopefully these don’t pop out at you!)

#1 - Now I let it Go

#1 – Now I let it Go – Best of

#1 – Now I Let It Go: I start with this one. At 2 minutes, it’s a great intro. And oh so nice!

 

Alone 2014-07-21 at 12.12.01 PM

#2 Alone – Moby – Best of

#2 – Alone: A 10 minute song that features soft a djembe-like drum theme in the background.

 

#3 - Novio

#3 – Novio – Best of

#3 – Novio: This seems to be one of her favorites. It starts with strings and such, and then, midway through the 2 minute song, there is a gentle choir chanting background.

 

#4 The Rain Falls and the Sky Shudders

#4 The Rain Falls and the Sky Shudders – Best of

#4 – The Rain Falls and the Sky Shudders: I think this is one of BT’s favs. It reminds me of a New York scene in the rain. Yellow Taxi Cabs, Black-Glass buildings, and White Pavement, all covered in dripping, silver/gray, refreshing rain. It has rain and subtle honk sounds in the back 🙂

 

When it's Cold I'd Like To Die

#5 When it’s Cold I’d Like To Die – Best of

#5 – When It’s Cold I’d Like To Die: Yes, yes, the title is a downer. However this song is actually one of my favorites. 1) It’s got lyrics. 2) I have no idea why… But it’s still good for sleeping, apparently because she is sound asleep all through it. And besides, who does want to swim the ocean and fight the tide when it is cold outside?

 

GRace

#6 Grace – Best of

#6 – Grace: a 5 minute song featuring in-and-out, single note, swelling strings. It’s cooler and more subtle than it sounds. 🙂

 

Guitar 2014-07-21 at 12.19.24 PM

#7 Guitar Flute and String – Play

#7 – Guitar Flute and String: This one’s fun. 🙂 And peaceful.

 

Jtff-1 2014-07-21 at 12.19.49 PM

#8 Jltf-1 – Wait For Me

#8 – Jltf-1: I don’t know what’s up with this title 🙂 This song is like an intro for the next song, but it can stand alone.

 

Jtff-e #3

#9 Jltf – Wait For Me

#9 – Jltf: This song features several recognizable instruments, including cymbals, and also has lyrics. The lyrics are of a sweet-singing, love-lorn lady, however, it’s still somehow soothing. Only Moby can do that. And some other artists in the Electronica genre. 🙂

 

Hope is Gone

#10 Hope is Gone – Wait For Me

#10 – Hope Is Gone: Judging from the # of plays, I more often than not skip this song. It’s a little haunting, a little too sad, and even though she still sleeps, I like to skip it. I had only added it to my playlist because it was slow. I still sometimes play it.

… Random Share: I made up this word while working with a kitten, today and I wanted to share it.

Rapscaffle: n. Synonym for rapscallion, ragamuffin, and other such playful terms for a mischievous or for redirecting a frolicing kid, kitten, or dog. “Come on you rapscaffle,” she said, laughing.” 🙂

Q&A:

Moby – ever heard of him before?

Favorite songs for sleep?

What term do you use for fun for redirecting kids? Scallywag, ragamuffin? Rapscaffle? 😉

Author: Arctic Hare!

I write Naturally Dreamy and have a lot of fun with that!

I want to hear your thinks... about anything...

