Naturally Dreamy

A blog about my life as an INFP living with an ESFJ, INTJ, and my pup. I blog about earth-friendly living and life through my eyes – not necessarily in that order. Come put your feet up where life is Naturally Dreamy!

Party Food Line-up

Leave a comment

Here is what I did for the party! Everybody, including me, loved it!

I had a a giant watermelon that I bought from the organic store, kiwis, blueberries and strawberries, all chopped up and put in a serving dish.

I served that first, due to the expiring nature of watermelon.

At the same time I had these sitting out for more munchies:

  • Popcorn (salt, pepper, freshly-dried basil, and light butter)
  • Cheezits (original – the others have more stuff in them…)
  • A bowl of Baby Carrots, Cherry Tomatoes and Sliced Bellpepper
  • Nuts (for a game later)
  • Chocolates (for a game later)
  • Trolli Sour Jellybeans (no modified food starch, yes!) (for a game later)
  • Chips

I also wanted a “meal” prepared in case people actually got hungry. I chose a Vegetarian Chili – though I ended up making it more like a stew with all the changes (purposeful and accidental) that I made. Thank you Chocolate Covered Katie for this recipe!!

I served with the chips (which were already out) and shredded Mexican cheese.

Not-Really Vegetarian, Not Really Chili, Vegetarian Chili:

(I’ll go in order of CCK’s recipe so you can compare easily.)

  • Onion
  • Oil

Cook until the flavor is pretty much out, just so no one gets too onion-y…

  • 2 cans garbanzo beans
  • 1 pack Pacific Free-Range Chicken Broth (4 cups)
  • 2 14 oz. Fire-Roasted Diced Tomatoes (Muir Glen has them!)
  • 2 T chili powder (or do what I did, and just shake it in so you have no clue how much you used!)
  • 1 tsp. Salt
  • 1 tsp. Oregano

Add all ingredients to the onion. Cook for about 15-20 minutes, and add half of this:

  • 2-3 bellpeppers diced

Cook for another 10-20 minutes, covered or not, and add the rest of the bellpeppers, and turn off flame, leave in pot, slightly covered.

All done!

As you can see, I really changed the recipe, kind of by accident – no garlic, different vegetable, I forgot the corn…, and only one type of bean — but it was super delicious! And served a lot of people. Thanks again, CCK!!!

Experiments in flavor: BT thought the stew/chili was too plain. He added cumin, some more chili powder, and thought it was terrific! In his second bowl, he did the same thing, but also added Worcestershire sauce. He though it was amazing! It was. So, there are some different flavor options you can play around with 🙂

I was stress-free the whole time! Thank you, God!

Have a terrific Monday, and I hope your next party turns out great!

Q&A:

Speaking of freshly dried basil, do you have any hints, tips or anything about how to keep a basil plant alive? I fear I am failing the poor plant…

Author: Arctic Hare!

I write Naturally Dreamy and have a lot of fun with that!

I want to hear your thinks... about anything...

