Naturally Dreamy

A blog about my life as an INFP living with an ESFJ, INTJ, and my pup. I blog about earth-friendly living and life through my eyes – not necessarily in that order. Come put your feet up where life is Naturally Dreamy!

Cinnamon Roll – with more INFP/TJ adventures!

Leave a comment

THIS IS NOT MY RECIPE!! 🙂

This is from Chocolate Covered Katie and Kylie at Yeah…immaeatthat. Kylie guest posted this recipe on Chocolate Covered Katie’s blog. Grand collaberation!

So, I woke up this morning, and my baking side kicked in gear (it’s been a long time!).

“I want to bake for breakfast,” I said, to myself, and later, in answer to BT’s question.

“Ugh! Bake for breakfast! Why would you want to do that??? It’s wooorrrkkk.” That was BT.

To Chocolate Covered Katie’s blog I went. The cinnamon bun post fit the bill. It was a single serving, and I had all the ingredients! 🙂

BT was up and out in the kitchen, and ragged on me with his many spasmacaps (I have no idea what that is) while I made breakfast for myself.

Spasmacaps: n. plural, a humoring style unique to BT where a comment gets under your skin. Despite it having nothing overtly mean or teasing about it, it definitely feels antagonistic, though said in a humorous way.

Hey, look! That’s what it is!

We just got to roll with them, ya know? He doesn’t mean to be annoying and triggering multiple problems I have… Plus, he tends to soften after each one, offering an almost apology. It is in these times that he will ask me a sincere question, and I’ll gloss over it because I’ve got a shell on due to the previous comments. Poor guy.

When I found out I actually didn’t have enough oatmeal flour, the first baking spasmacap came.

Then, I found some more oats. (First apology). 🙂 Life with family is interesting. I just wish I handled it better, sometimes.

Here is the terrific recipe, reprinted not with permission, but it is halved… with some different ingredients… so, anyways, please go visit the original sites!!

The dough:

  • 1/6 cup packed oat flour
  • 2 -3 teaspoons (literal spoons) of oat flour, also packed down
  • less than 1/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • salt – shook in
  • 1/2 Tablespoon butter
  • 1 Tablespoon, and some change, mashed banana (mine was a frozen 1/4 banana)

This stuff: The first 4 get combined. Then the other 2.

Mix all together, make into a ball and set aside.

  • Extra oat flour
  • Cutting board

Spread a generous amount of oat flour across the board. Set ball on flour, and roll it around. Re-lay flour where it got caught up in ball.

The filling:

  • 1 medjool date (take pit out!)
  • around 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
  • a little warm water (like a 1/4 teaspoon)
  • 1/4 Tablespoon of butter

Mash, mash, mash, mash! When it’s all mashy, then you are good!

Time to put them together!

  1. Roll the ball of dough out, ensuring it doesn’t stick. Roll it long and thin.
  2. “Spread” the filling out. It was kind of hard. If you want, also add some butter, cinnamon, and sugar (mixed and melted together), over whatever you missed.
  3. Fold the dough in half, lengthwise. 
  4. Roll it up, add a little cinnamon butter mix where you see fit, and stick it in an… oh right!

The dish:

  • Oil
  • Heat-safe small dish, ie. ramekin

Baking directions:

  1. Put rolled-up bun into the oiled dish.
  2. Bake or microwave (on CCK’s/Kylie’s recipe.)
  3. I baked at 350º F for 12-15 minutes.

Drizzle: Yes, you need it. 🙂

  • Plain (full-fat) Dannon yogurt — 1-2 Tablespooons
  • Stevia — 1/4 packet of the strong stuff
  • Vanilla Extract — eh, whatever amount

Mix together. Yum! Attempt to drizzle over bun/roll, and eat the rest.

Cinnamon Roll

Congratulations! You have read through another attempt at me writing directions, and made yourself a fantastic cinnamon roll! (For an insulin-resistance-diet friendly meal, pair with 2 eggs (eaten first)).

While I was making it – “So where is the cinnamon roll?” “Where is the cinnamon roll?” “Everytime I ask you where it is, you say, “In the oven!””

Me: “You know I’m just making it for me, right? There’s not enough for two.” (I’m not usually this rude, but I get nervous when something I’m making will be tried by BT — I wanted to make sure he knew it wasn’t necessarily for him. He knew.) “Are you waiting on me to get breakfast? I’ll be done soon.” The answer was no.

Back to him: “No. I just want it to be done so you can try it and and tell me if it’s good or not.” — Huh?? Shrug. I’ll let him know. It was a nice enough, though odd, request. (Thinking on it now, I might wonder the same thing as another bakes… though I usually also have a vested, hunger-interest, as well.)

When it finally came out of the oven, his last remark was. “That is, by far, the ugliest cinnamon roll I have ever seen.” Shake it off, I, I, shake it off.

“It’s good!” I said as soon as I took my first bite. He was satisfied. 🙂

Life is more fun with BT.

Q&A:

Do you do well with others in the kitchen?

Do you have anyone who uses spasmacaps? What do you call it? How do you not hold it against them?

Author: Arctic Hare!

I write Naturally Dreamy and have a lot of fun with that!

I want to hear your thinks... about anything...

