Naturally Dreamy

A blog about my life as an INFP living with an ESFJ, INTJ, and my pup. I blog about earth-friendly living and life through my eyes – not necessarily in that order. Come put your feet up where life is Naturally Dreamy!

Book

Leave a comment

Okay, so I really try never to do this – recommend something to somebody (I could stop the sentence there and still be accurate) before I’ve fully read/seen it/ been accustomed with it for a goodly period to know that it won’t turn.

But, I really need to want to get out of this rut of not posting. 🙂

So, I will gush. I so want to share, so it gives me something neutral and fun to write about.

And who knows? This one might even end well. (Update: It ended well!! It was terrific!)

I picked 5 books from the library, and added them to my mental “read now” list, along with Tale of Two Cities, news magazines, and the Age of Religious Wars. Historically, I’m still in the 1600’s, as I work my way up this series of all-encompassing history books. 🙂 And it’s taking me forever.

After reading Catching Fire I decide to take a quick break from dystopian land. Too much of that can alter my thinking – not in the positive way you’d expect either.

So, I choose to read the most-unsure book.

Ever since BT had some business in the library, and I didn’t know what to do, I have formulated a new procedure for picking up books to discover, and borrow.

I roam the shelves and pick up what looks interesting. Scan the cover for key details, and if it passes, I move on to the inner flap.

The flap is crucial if I am unsure – it must avoid some key-words, and if it does, it goes in the stack.

I’ve never done this before, but I quickly didn’t second-guess myself. It’s my new method.

Roam the shelves, pick up the books, check-out the books, read the books.

So, noticing a bright-yellow-and-white spined book in the middle of the middle of the middle of the 3-sided shelving unit I was standing in, I thought a-ha! It’s time for a bit of random selection.

(In case you were curious – It was in the middle section of the “open-rectangle” shaped shelving unit, meaning, against the wall, while the two bookshelves flanked it, on either side of me, in a perpendicular manner. Then it was in the middle from top to bottom. And it was in the middle right to left, as well!)

I’d gone in to see if I could find another lawyer mystery – but I figured I could get away with a few moments of browsing.

BT and I both came out with handfuls of borrows!

So, when I read the spine, and it said “Bookstore”, I was intrigued.

7a2536f0743c07801cb43b6b3e89893e

I slid it out and it said, fully: “Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore”. Unless it had something very vile on the inside cover – for instance declaring that, despite it’s bright yellow cover, it was actually a book about horror and zombies and ghosts attacking innocent browsees of a mysterious bookstore – I was going to read it, probably.

So, it began my stack which came to include a John Grisham, Terry Pratchett and 2 Hunger Games books.

Then 2 Taylor Swift CD’s and 2 WOW Hits CD’s.

I’ve only read 28 pages of “Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore” (by Robin Sloan) but already I love the writing style.

28 pages in does not give me much to go on of whether or not the rest will live up to recommendation-worthy, but I would say, even just for the first 28, I would recommend trying to check it out.

It’s relatable, full of imagery, and has made me smile multiple times. Books don’t do that. Okay, most things don’t. I can see where they are going and am like “You have no effect on me” like some droid. But no, I don’t see his wit coming, and it’s so nice.

So, yeah. First 28 pages, I recommend a read! 😀

I’ll let you know how the rest goes.

Q&A:
What about you? Do you like wait to recommend something until you’re sure it’s a done-deal or do you like to share as soon as you can?

Have you read this book?

Author: Arctic Hare!

I write Naturally Dreamy and have a lot of fun with that!

I want to hear your thinks... about anything...

