Naturally Dreamy

A blog about my life as a mostly INFP living with an ESFJ, INTJ, and my pup. I blog about earth-friendly living and life through my eyes – not necessarily in that order. Come put your feet up where life is Naturally Dreamy!

Homesick

Leave a comment

There’s an odd thing about me that not many know.

I don’t even know if my family knows.

I can get homesick.

I often do. I was always asked as a wee kid if I had to go back to my house in the middle of the night because I couldn’t stand the length of the sleepover. I have NEVER returned early, and have sometimes stayed later.

But I usually have that longing not too long in, or near the end of a trip to go back home.

I love being with my friends. When I’m away from them I want to travel to them.

I love being out of my house. When I’ve been in too long I want to go somewhere, anywhere!

My friends are my second life, and the friends I have are closer to second families than actual friends. We are that close. But yet, there is something family about my family that makes me want to come back.

Our home is not a place – our home has always been each other. But, we do fulfill that totally.

When I’m away I get a break from the things that break me down, but at the same time I am not whole without them.

I’m not dealing with an INTJ while being a feeler-perceiver. I’m not coping as my ESFJ Mom talks in an unhelpful yet so cheerful and happy way. I’m free of rebuke, free of correction, and free to be me.

Yet I miss my home.

I want to go back.

92e9520c5761c8113f28c495bb54c279

Because no matter how less there is of a bad thing, nobody else has the good things my family has. My family is MINE. And the fact that we have one, is even more surprising.

Because our family is blood, but only just. More than in other families we’ve chosen each other. We aren’t one to say “You’re blood, we have to stay together.” We are by merit. We are by if the other person is detrimental to our health, we will encourage each other to eject. We are sure to make sure we do not stay in super-poisonous relationships. So there is no guarantee we would be family if we weren’t not also friends.

But we are. I have one, and now more than ever, I’m so patriotic about it. They’re my family and you should love them too. Let me show you the ways. They’re awesome.

Never have I left early. Yet I’ve always been homesick halfway through, wanting nothing more than to get back. But I’m with the other ones I love, and I couldn’t be more grateful.

Homesick: it’s weird, but a blessing, because you have a ‘home’ you want to go back to.

It’s a place – not perfect – not always helpful – but don’t get me wrong, never EVER bad.

I’m at home there. I actually have a home that I’m at home at – words that I have no definition for! Isn’t that cool?

Q&A:

Have you ever been homesick? What did you do about it?

Author: Arctic Hare!

I write Naturally Dreamy and have a lot of fun with that!

I want to hear your thinks... about anything...

