Naturally Dreamy

A blog about my life as an INFP living with an ESFJ, INTJ, and my pup. I blog about earth-friendly living and life through my eyes – not necessarily in that order. Come put your feet up where life is Naturally Dreamy!

Gishwhes Team Paradox!

Leave a comment

GISHWHES (Greatest International Scavenger Hunt The World Has Ever Seen) is starting soon!

Last year amongst a bundle of what ifs, and doubts, I did sign up for GISHWHES and discovered it to be gladly more low-key than I expected and fun, and really great fun working on a team.

Okay – so, what is GISHWHES?

Originally a publicity stunt, Misha Collins (actor, Supernatural, cool Dude) tweeted something at the behest of Ollis (Supernatural’s publicity guy). Misha tweeted that Ollis gave him a rhinocerous he would share with everyone who voted for Supernatural. Supernatural won the poll Ollis was hoping it would, and Misha told everyone to send him self-addressed envelopes.

Then, inspired by his time at a college where he participated in a scavenger hunt they did, he sent out puzzle pieces to the participants with scavenger hunt items on the back of them. The puzzle? A rhinocerous. 😉

Some of the scavenger hunt items were accomplished, and that was the first, unofficial, GISHWHES. Misha ended up loving the idea so much & how it brought people together doing incredible things, he created a website and a name for the scavenger hunt the next year. (Source: Wikipedia!)

I will be participating in GISHWHES again this year and I’m soo looking forward to it. I currently have 4 people on my team named Team Paradox and would love for any of my readers to join my team!

If you were interested in doing gishWhes, giving it a try, or such-like, you are welcome. You can also ask me any questions at all you have.

Registration is $18.96, and although you can spend money completing items, I did not, last year. I also didn’t have transportation for many of the days, and couldn’t do anything for the first 3 days. These were my primary concerns, but it all worked out and I didn’t end up letting down the team. 🙂

So there’s my plug! XD If you have any questions lemme know, and I’ll try and answer them!

What kind of things might you do in GISHWHES? At the beginning of the hunt, we receive a list of around 200 tasks. No team has ever done all of them; the focus is on quality of submissions, versus quantity. The focus of GISHWHES is on creativity, kindness, or silliness or a mix of all 3. 🙂

To give an idea of what you might do in GISHWHES, here are some of the things I did last year:

DSC01159

Every year GISHWHES has a mascot that is a fictional blend of two animals. Last year was the Dinomite – half dino, half mite.

I created caped sugar cookies for Item 193: “Contribute the recipe for ‘Dinomite’s Fluffy Bites’ to Allrecipes.com and get at least 20, 5-star reviews from people who enjoyed the recipe.” I did not succeed on that last part, but the cookies were yummy. 🙂

DSC01518

This photo is not for a task, but one I took while we were out completing it. BT and I’d gone out to the park to finish item 174, and after I did it, he wanted to give the challenge a try. That was when he pointed and said, “Look a balloon!” and I have a picture of him pointing, and the balloon in one shot! XD This is a picture of just the balloons, while it looked really cool floating in the approaching storm clouds and bright sun!

“Travel across the narrow part of a level football field (or the equivalent of 150 feet on level grassed ground). You cannot touch the ground with any part of your body and you cannot have anyone push or pull you. You’re only allowed to use a skateboard, two pieces of string or rope no more than 5 feet long each and a clothespin. (NOTE: You can’t use the clothespin as an extension of your hand or foot to push you along the ground.)” (We still haven’t found out the purpose of the clothespin!)

DSC01229

(I know this picture is dark, but with my screen bright I can read all of it okay – hopefully that’s true on yours, too?)

This one was the most out of my element (haha, lol, I didn’t mean to do that).

“Create a short “Supernatural”-related horror story out of the abbreviations of the elements of the Periodic Table. You may only use each letter from each abbreviation once (so you’d have roughly – 225 letters to use). The more coherent the story, the better.”

This is where my research of watching Supernatural did pay off. While I was working my behind-the-scenes job, I furiously scratched away and counted & recounted numbers and letters until I had made this 2 sentence story.

I don’t even like horror! But I was pleasantly surprised at how this turned out. The next to-do was to take a good photo of it to submit.

The next night I was recreating the Lady and the Tramp scene on a “fancy date” (another item), but with my dog, because I don’t have a date! XD Not exactly what the task asked for, but I thought the judges might enjoy it. BT, when he he heard my idea of substituting a date for dinner with my dog laughed and said, “Do it, do it!”

I’d put up the candles for the dinner, and it was then I had the idea of photographing the story by the light of the candle. I’m so glad I did, as this is the submission photo I’m most proud of. 🙂 (Although I don’t like that term…)

DSC01198

“Design and build a comfortable, functional piece of living room furniture made entirely from repurposed/recycled materials. Then show the family enjoying it.”

This is the picture I took of the half-throne, half-wingback chair (with ottoman) I made, before I covered it with repurposed tableclothes. I made it out of cardboard, broken ratchet straps, popcorn, plastic bags, and I covered it over with table cloths for upholstery.

It was surprisingly comfy!


If you want to join the silliness this year, I’d be thrilled to have you join Team Paradox. No pressure but I wanted to make sure I extended the invitation to you all, because I’d love to have you on the team. 🙂

P.S. Why Paradox? I’ve always liked the word paradox, and out of the 4 team-names I was considering Team Paradox got the most votes – thus the name! 🙂

Have a great weekend!!

P.P.S. – we’ve merged with a different team! I’m gishing with the Purkle Platicorns thiss year! 😀

Author: Arctic Hare!

I write Naturally Dreamy and have a lot of fun with that!

I want to hear your thinks... about anything...

