Naturally Dreamy

A blog about my life as an INFP living with an ESFJ, INTJ, and my pup. I blog about earth-friendly living and life through my eyes – not necessarily in that order. Come put your feet up where life is Naturally Dreamy!

Happy 4th of July nail art!

Leave a comment

The 4th of July (America’s Independence Day) is approaching! I have accordingly decked out my nails. 🙂

I’ve got 2 different designs. On my left hand, I have a de-constructed American flag. On the right I have excerpts from the Declaration of Independence.

DSC04255

For the American flag nails, I used a white from Essie, a navy blue from Mary Kay at Play, and a red from Rimmel. I used the dotter of my nail-art tool to create the wavy red lines of flag-flapitude, and the thin point on the flip side of the tool to create the “stars”.

After I’d made the red-stripes, I added some clear-sparkly polish to the top and bottom of the white nails, because I thought it would look more complete that way. 🙂

DSC04253

I’m actually almost out of that sparkle polish that I have been using since I was … I don’t even know how young I was, it just seems to have always existed! Before I was “allowed” to put bright or dark colors on my nails, the sparkle polish was an always a-okay, and I remember the small array sparkle polishes in the “nail bag”. They were such a special fun thing for me to use. We still have every one of them! XD We don’t use polish very fast… usually. (Nail art changed that a wee bit – I ran out of my first white polish, and am nearly out of my black one.)

DSC04246

Before I started on the newspaper-print-lift on this hand, I had painted my left nails, and prepped the right hand with tan polish. I went shopping, and the cashier complimented my nails and I said, “Oh, thanks! I’m planning on putting sections of the Declaration of Independence on this hand [*waving right hand*] using the newspaper lift-technique.”

“Cool!” she said, “I did that once” [insert surprised and interested “you did!?” from me]
“… it worked all right, but silly me, I forgot to flip the image.”

“Ohhh, yeah… I hadn’t thought of that.”

Yep, I had indeed *not* thought of that, and the images I’d had printed out earlier were not flipped. Therefore I learned as she had that it makes for a reversed image.

This is what it would look like if I had reversed it! (and you viewed my hand in a sideways manner):

DSC04252

To get the clips, I downloaded a high-pixel-rate (is that the term?) image from the internet of the Declaration, and pasted it into Word. From there, I isolated some segments I wanted.

For example, the first “When” — that W was so grand, and it starts everything off. When in the course of human events…”

When

I felt as if could be understood to be disrespectful to be pasting portions of a national document on my fingernails. I hoped that it wouldn’t be, but as I did it I also decided to consideringly select portions instead of using it as merely a means to an artistic look.

middle text

Okay, well this one wasn’t so well-considered, but it falls somewhere in the first third, and I thought the two T’s looked so amazing.

Next, I spotted this “Free and Independent” (in this really cool different font!) and thought, boo yah, perfect.

free and independent

For a couple of the nails, I didn’t smooth the image enough, and it allowed a gap, where the image didn’t transfer. This happened on this one, and so it’s near unreadable. Woops!

Next, I used this “United States of America” in that same off-set font. I think it may have been one of the first times they set it in writing. *cue hushed awe-choir in my mind*

usa

And, gosh, I couldn’t foray into the Declaration without paying tribute to the signers. John Hancock – easily recognizable, but 1. too big to fit on any of my nails! and 2. I sort of wanted to highlight some of the other signers, so I went to the right, where several signatures stood in close proximity to each other.

signatures

It was really neat to be able to peruse a picture of the real document, usually only having read it in transcribed-format in another text! Did you know they ^ inserted a couple of words??

Finally, a big thank you to this video from which I learned how to do this! It was so short, clear and covered all the bases – like how to remove extra paper that stuck to the nail. The note in the note is very important – laser printed paper is apparently a key ingredient in this technique!

I hope you have a wonderful weekend with your family (or, you know, dog/friends/whatever makes thine boat happy)! 🙂

Q&A: 

Do you have any special plans for this weekend?

Author: Arctic Hare!

I write Naturally Dreamy and have a lot of fun with that!

I want to hear your thinks... about anything...

